top of page
Search
  • ellmolloy

Creating Concept Collages

Since my time at university is ending soon, I have been working very hard on my portfolio. A couple of weeks ago, I had a portfolio review from Jenny Denton. It was such a fantastic opportunity, and I received an abundance of helpful feedback and advice. One of the main things she pointed out was that it was difficult to understand my concept at first glance. Therefore I decided to create some collages to try and entice the reader of my portfolio and display my design inspiration instantly.




Above are some of the collages I made. I know my designs inside and out, so I am likely to assume that these diagrams showcase my ideas. So, to get a non-bias view of my work, I got some outsiders opinions. My friendship group consists of four other girls who, although each has their unique design tastes, aren't familiar with how interior designers work. Therefore, if they understood the ideas behind my designs for these collages, I knew a professional of the industry would identify my concept. If my friends struggled, I knew my visuals needed improving.




I enjoyed this task. It was amusing to see my friends' responses and beneficial as I now know what concepts are clear and what diagrams need improving. Luckily, they were able to identify all of my ideas with a helpful nudge. I will repeat this task when creating client boards for my final projects to see if my work is precise and presented well.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page